Home > Christianity and the Culture > Was Tupac Right about the Church?

Was Tupac Right about the Church?

Be careful about the profane language in this video, you may be offended.  Nonetheless, I wanted to pose the question:  Is Tupac right about the church of today?  I am curious to know your thoughts…

  1. daughterofzion
    June 8, 2009 at 9:50 am

    Sir, it is an offense to place on your website the opinions of someone who is anti-God and who to many is a god in the hip-hop community. You can’t mix the sacred and profane to make some point. Furthermore, it is a sin to speak and listen to profanity.

    Any truths about the people of God, God’s church, or the bible can be gleaned from someone, anyone, who professes and lives the life of Christ. Your choice of this man, who has deluded many of our young people, and plunged them into greater darkness, by the thousands, is a poor decision indeed.

    • June 9, 2009 at 8:28 pm

      I thank you for your opinion and I value your participation in the conversation. I also want to take the time to formally apologize if I have offended and will hope that the oil of forgiveness can be poured out so that we continue to fellowship going forward. It was a hard choice for me to ask people to listen to something, through which profanity might be heard. So much so, that in my original posting of the video I warned people of the profanity. However, i do not agree with your position as to (1) what I should put on my website, (2) your choice of using sacred and secular distinction, (3) your evaluation of the point, if any, that I was trying to make. I believe that one of my jobs is not to give you conclusions, but to think out your faith and to pray that God will illumine your mind with wisdom and revelation. Eph. 1:17-19.

      I don’t believe in a sacred and secular distinction. Its an artificial western philosophy, rather than a biblical philosophy. I believe that God created everything and everything he created was GOOD. Now man sinned and caused creation to be corrupted by sin. However, God is completely sovereign over his creation and has made a way for creation to be redeemed through Jesus Christ. I believe that anybody, anything, and any art form can be redeemed. My job as an evangelist is to go after the sick not the well. So I believe in using everything if it can be used for the glory of God, that includes a tape of Tupac. Tupac is being used to provoke thought about our definition of what the church is and its mission. In no way, was I holding Pac up as the moral authority as to what the church is and what is should be. In fact, truth be told, I wouldn’t even hold your pastor up as the authority. The bible is my authority. But I use anything by any godly means necessary to bring people to faith in Jesus. As Paul would put it: “I have become all things to all men, so that I might save some.”

      Lastly, the gospel brings liberation and it also points to the sinfulness of humanity. Religion is happy about the form and not so much worried about the substance. For instance, we get happy when a man who lives a life of outward moral purity and says all the right words, never truly knowing that the same man might be a horrible person to his family and friends. Why, we are concerned with the form and not the substance? The gospel is concerned about the substance, because the substance will then determine the form, not the other way around. For instance, if God gets a hold of my heart, the joy of my heart and the LOVE I feel will then manifest itself in my life over a period of time. I may not be perfect, but I am being perfected. I feel free in the liberty that the gospel provides to live a life free to Christ. However, I should not use my liberty to offend my brothers and sisters. If you tell me that you are going to continue to read this blog, then I will strongly consider and pray about not using examples like Pac’s in the future.

      Sister I love you,

      P.

  2. June 10, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    Amen!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

