Home > Christianity and the Culture > AIDS:Stop the Music

AIDS:Stop the Music

I LOVE MUSIC!!!  I love the bass and the wordplay of hip-hop.  I love the sweet serenade of a soul singer set on fire.  I like to hear classical music when I am studying or thinking, it helps me to concentrate and weed out distractions.  I love gospel music that focuses my heart, mind, and body on the Son of God, especially after a long day of dealing with crazy folk.  It has truly been a beautiful thing for me to have music.

 

However, I think much of popular music is negative and has a direct effect on sexual promiscuity and the HIV rate.  Songs like Lil’ Wayne’s Lollipop and Plies’ “Bus-it Baby” are vulgar, influential, and demeaning to women. It is with sadness that I say all of this because I love hip-hop.  But a spade has to be called a spade.  I believe popular music has an effect on how people of the opposite sex view each other.  If I consider a woman nothing more than a “Bus-it Baby” — a woman who is cool enough for me to have sex with but not cool enough to marry or honor — then how does it make her feel?  She feels like what is valued is her sex and she responds appropriately.  The guy feels what will give him value and self-worth is “getting it” and he responds appropriately.  Popular hip-hop encourages us and influences us to get our sexual highs however we can get them.  Check Lil’ Wayne’s lyrics from “Lolipop”:

 

  Uh Huh No Homo…

Young Mula Baby

I say he so sweet

Make her wanna lick the rapper

So I let her lick the wrapper

 

This song topped the charts for a long time and it is representative of the music that influences our mind and our sexual habits.   What are your thoughts?

  1. Dorian
    August 16, 2008 at 12:16 am

    This is sort of what I’m writing my thesis on. I am discussing how these images, lyrics, and ideas are pervasive (thanks to the mass media) and eventually people internalize them….And it eventually becomes their identity because that’s what society dictates….or even worse what they BELIEVE

  2. August 16, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    What kind of music are you examining in your music? Personally, I think its “crack” music, people feel like they need it and they want to hear it. And every day they’ve got to get their fix.

  3. Dorian
    August 16, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    Primarily rap music…my focus is its effects on Black women….Unfortunately people make excuses for what they hear…..Folks in the majority think this sort of music is representative of Black culture…Personally, I don’t want that sort of music representing me….Unfortunately some rap has become common in mass media…T.I. was featured in a G.M. commercial for Chevys….Jay-Z was featured before a Monday Night Football game and the list goes on and on….People think “Oh! THIS is Black culture”…..And they expect the things described in the songs to be what it means to be Black in America….

  4. August 16, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    I look at it as Corporate America being Corporate America. What I see is the music’s effect on our sexual habits and the rise of HIV in black women and homosexual men!! Kind of scary. I have been talking to some teens and sexual sin is starting in elementary school, crazy!!! Women being turned out by men, hurt by men, and going gay in middle school.

  5. Dorian
    August 16, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    The sad thing is that alot of rappers buy into Corporate America. They know the negative effects…but sell their morals for the “mighty” dollar…it’s amazing who the true sell-outs are…A few years back i worked as a camp counselor and the kids started asking all types of things they thought I would know…they were 9-10….It was unbelievable how misinformed they were…. and where they got their information….the internet and music videos of course

  6. August 17, 2008 at 1:34 am

    What do you think can be done to help improve the situation?

  7. Dorian
    August 17, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    Not to sound extremely radical…but a revolution….protests and boycotts of radio stations until they play music that respect us AND truly represent us….I think coalitions with musicians and record companies….but I think it is going to take people in our generation to say enough! More uplifting music….more music that commends us as opposed to degrading us….What do you think?

  8. August 18, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    I think more than just a physical transformation must occur. I think people’s hearts have to be changed. Because you can tell me what to do, but if I in my heart don’t believe it, eventually I am going to go back. But if I have been changed by the power of God, and I am a radio DJ or a record company executive, then I will think twice about doing anything that displeases God. I think those of us who are part of God’s kingdom have to start doing what he has called us to do, which is to preach and live the gospel as a demonstration of a “city on a hill” to the world. God working through us can change folks by them just seeing how we speak live and operate. The church has to be the church. People seek that kind of music, because they can’t see the light. We have a responsibility to shine that light in their world by sharing the message and teaching folk everything that he has taught us (Matt 28:19).

  9. samone greene
    March 23, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    hey

    • March 25, 2009 at 6:10 pm

      Hello! Thanks for stopping by!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

