Home > Christianity and the Culture, kingdom of God > Only God can Judge Him

Only God can Judge Him

Last week, I asked my barber who he thought was the best rapper between Tupac and Biggie.  He said Tupac.  My barber felt that Tupac spoke to ordinary people’s everyday issues.  He also mentioned that Tupac was one of the only people who talked about God and spirituality in his music.  I thought about it and I agreed with him.  Tupac was the first person I knew who dealt with spiritual issues in his music.  From “I Wonder if Heaven has a Ghetto” to “Only God can Judge Me,” Tupac examined the role of God in his life.  But the next question I asked my barber was whether he thought Tupac went to heaven.  He answered, “Yea, because he talked about God.”  Which lead me to my next question —  “what do you think it takes to get to heaven?”  He said, “As long as your good outweighs your bad then you are straight.”  Dang…Is that the standard of entering the kingdom of God?  I feel sad, because I think a lot of people think that way, and a lot of them profess to be Christian.  Ultimately, I don’t know where Tupac is, but I do know that if he didn’t turn from his sins and trust in Jesus for salvation from God’s wrath, then he is not with God.  What about you?  What do you think?

  1. Dorian
    July 11, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    I think this humanistic concept has evolved into a social principle. Society is often remiss to question where someone goes after this life. I think that in society it is often considered offensive to suggest that someone might not have made it heaven if they weren’t Christian. For example, people suggest that the Dalai Lama would go to heaven, because he is good person in spite of him not accepting Christ. If a Christian suggests otherwise, they are considered to be an extremist like Fred Phelps. No one is inherently good….So technically no one would have made it. No one knows the desires of man’s heart better that God. He sent Jesus because He knew man was evil. I think statements like your barber made, although well-intentioned, negate Christ’s purpose.

  2. July 11, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    Good comment, I think you touched on a problem where we don’t really have an understanding what standard of “goodness” is God looking for. Since God’s standard is absolute and eternal perfection, the fact that the Dalai Lamai did great things matters nothing to God. He has sinned and even his righteous deeds are like used feminine products (Isaiah 64:6). That is the picture of what God thinks of us outside of what Jesus has done for us. I think as Christians we ought to have a right understanding of the truth and be able to share that with other people.

  3. Dorian
    July 11, 2008 at 11:11 pm

    How does one word that without offending? Or is the point the sin is really the offensive thing? So it wouldn’t really matter since it is the truth? Perhaps it is more offensive to sugarcoat it?…..Do I make sense?

  4. July 12, 2008 at 5:57 am

    I think that we just tell them the truth clearly and plainly. You can still do in love but tell them the truth. The power is in the truth of the gospel (Romans 1:16). And it doesn’t have to be a one -time thing, it can be within the context of a relationship. I recommend you read Paul’s Letter to the Romans and The Gospel and Personal Evangelism by Mark Dever.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

