Home > Christianity and the Culture > R. Kelly…Wow!

R. Kelly…Wow!

 

 

Growing up, I remember my boys and I cutting our heads bald, wearing those gangsta locs, and walking around our apartment complex like we were R. Kelly.  I remember us singing songs from the albums “12 Play” and ” R. Kelly” on the phone to girls we were trying to woo.  “It seems like your ready, girl are you ready, to go all the way…”  I also remember when R. Kelly would float through town for a concert.  I never got a chance to go — I didn’t have $40 for a ticket.  But I remember all the stories from my homegirls about them getting a chance to meet him backstage. (Um, yea, I was in high school).  

Well, when the verdict came out last week, I had mixed emotions.  I had a feeling that he would get off for a number of reasons, not the least of which was that it took 6 years to try his case!  He is not guilty according to a court of law.  The verdict should be respected.  However, what did hurt me about it was the fact that a man who I loved and worshipped would get the opportunity to continue to make music that I have grown to dislike over the years.

Here is my complaint and what I believe grieves the heart of God more than anything.  Some of R. Kelly’s music (not all) serves as a place where women are degraded into second-class citizens and inanimate objects, like Jeeps.  Are we not created in the image of God?  In listening to his latest single, the “Customer” Remix with Raheem Devaughn, which I must admit was extremely catchy, I caught the words” “I will give you some good, good lemonade.” What!!! (I am not going to break that down for you, you know what he is saying!)  

With this recent case and now this song, it begs the question does R. Kelly care about the women he degrades in his songs?

What also puzzles me, is that Christian folk continue to worship him and his music, although we see that there are definitely issues that need to be addressed.  Now, please R. Kelly fans don’t take offense to this.  I used R. Kelly as Exhibit A in the bastardization and demonization of the music.  But he is not by himself. What I really struggle with within my soul is the fact that some of the same music and musicians that I use to love, I now cringe inside when I hear them disparaging my sisters.  I got more but I got to go…

 

P.S.  I have his gospel album, I think its great!!!

 

 

  1. June 30, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    interesting post, will come back here, bookmarked your site

  2. November 30, 2009 at 5:20 am

    OH MY G.O.D I HAVE BEEN A FAN OF R.KELLY EVER SINCE I WAS YOUNG,I AM NOW 26 IN SOUTH AFRICA.PITY I WAS WAITING FOR SO LONG FOR HIM TO COME TO S.A AND LOST HOPE BUT I WAS SUPRISED WHEN HE WAS HERE THIS YEAR.R,KELLY NEO MNGUNI LOVES AND ADORE U,KEEP UP THE GUD WORK I WAS FIGHTING WITH MY BOYFRIEND SAYING THAT U ARE INNOCENT AND WE BROKE UP LOL BUT IT’S ALL IN THE PAST I LOVE U AND WILL ALWAYS LOVE U GOD BLESS YOU.LOL Y U SHAVE YOUR HAIR AGAIN? AND GOD BLESS YOU DAMN U GOOD

  3. shaquisha crawford
    May 3, 2010 at 11:49 am

    hey my name is shaquisha i have been a fan sice wen his songs came out bt the one i lked more was trapped in the closet i wanted to see u backstage bt i had to go bt r.kelly ur the best i knw u r innosent u didnt do nothen make another trapped in the closet i love u so much me and my boyfriend love u to p.s god bless u and he loves u dearly.

  4. October 21, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Imagine yourself always in the public view merely trying to share with the world the amazing gifted voice God gave to you. Now not to mention your good looks, your musical genius and your sexy down to earth ways… still tempted attacked ridiculed judged persecuted and even betrayed. Yet continuing on the path set before you hoping that there are more people for you than against you who appreciate all that you gave…and are forgiving of mistakes that you’ve made and will continue to support you simply because the songs you sing make us feel that way. And for those of you who can imagine life as The Greatest Pied Piper in RNB well trust and believe that this man has been thru HELL on his journey to become RKELLY. I myself am in awe of him and I know that I know that GOD LOVES him too. Never forget that in THE WORD it says “to much is given, much is required”. So KELZ just keep on doin what you do and keep your eyes on the prize GOD still has in store for you, with great love and respect, MS. TOMI X

  5. November 22, 2010 at 12:20 am

    Kelz I know that u are the one for me… and I pray to God that u agree. Baaaaby I want and need and desire to be with u, anywhere u are. Heavenly Father which art’ in Heaven I pray that you put and keep us together forever……this is my prayer. I love u.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

