Home > Uncategorized > Single but will settle?

Single but will settle?

I was listening to a sermon by Matt Chandler — “Be Careful How You Hear” and he said something that I thought was profound:

Women often trade intimacy with Jesus for men who can not even lead them.

Do women do that?  Are Christian men and women afraid of being alone?  Do we really choose relationships over God? 

  1. olende
    June 13, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Hey,
    Yeah also just listened to that message yesterday, and from what I’ve seen, many many people are afraid of being alone.

    I also think churches (at least the one’s I have been involved with) put an emphasis (maybe unknowingly) on getting married, to the point where it maybe starts to become a burden. It almost seems like it’s strange if you’re not married or dating because you really should be…so get off your arse and find someone already!

    The evidence is pretty clear, looking at friends in the church that are divorced at 27yrs old after rushing into marriage. Young Christians can often choose to run after and cling to that companionship out of a desperation for someone special in their lives….and oh yeah, don’t forget, for the sex.

    In the end, I reckon it comes down to the fact that we’re not told and don’t realise (whether or not someone tells us) that we can be fully satisfied in Christ. Through the gospel we get to know and enjoy God. I still want to be married some day, but I thank God for teaching that I have been blessed to gain access to, which tells me that sharing my life with a woman will never compare to giving my life fully to knowing Christ, and because I have Christ, I’m not alone (however corny that sounds…).

    R.O.O.

  2. June 14, 2008 at 12:11 am

    I think you are right about being satisfied in Christ. People say it but they don’t really believe what they are saying, because their actions show differently. I am learning that we truly can be content in Christ myself, but it has been a challenge because all around me I am not sure people believe that. It helps if you have some examples to follow.

  3. theteester
    June 15, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    I would imagine my desire to be married one day, and have a family is not uncommon for most people. God knows that this is a desire of my heart, but until that time comes, I am LEARNING to be content in Christ. This is hard for me, because I am a people and family type person. I enjoy doing things with others, and look forward to the day of doing things with someone special (I want to go white water rafting). Olende, I agree with you in that sharing my life with someone will never compare to giving my life to Christ, nor will it compare to the joy I am experiencing in sharing my life with Christ. I believe God has blessed me with so much, that I am excited about the opportunity to one day share who I am, what he has done for me, and the woman God has shaped me to be with someone. However, until that day comes……I am LEARNING to be content with Christ! I must admit, it is HARD!

  4. olende
    June 16, 2008 at 2:49 am

    Oh yes, it’s hard…I’m living proof of that. I think having older Christians who have gone through the single years well is a great asset. In my home church there is a pastor that got married at 40…and he was basically the church stud for over a decade…but he waited and waited and waited…and was blessed with a great woman. Having gone through the single years strong, he’s a great blessing.

  5. theteester
    June 16, 2008 at 10:08 am

    WOW…what a great example of waiting for the right one! I am sure he can offer lots of words of encouragment to the singles at your church.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

