Home > Christianity and the Culture > To Club or not to Club?

To Club or not to Club?

 

This song is kind of catchy, I must admit. Obviously, it has major issues. Questionable lyrics. Love in the club, hmm?  Isn’t Beyonce married now?

If Beyonce is not married, I have two questions for her:  

1. Are you a Christian?

2. If the answer to the first question is yes, do you mind if your husband makes a lot less money than you do? 🙂

I also want to ask Lil’ Wayne why he sounds like a leprechaun!

Just kidding, really.  I digressed. Back to the question.  Because I used to be an event promoter, I love a good social event.  While listening to the song, I thought of the question: should Christians be at the club?  What is your honest opinion?  Do you hold fast to it?  

 

  1. carlal
    May 15, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    I am older now, but when I was younger{in my twenties, before I started my family}, I loved to go out to the clubs! I loved to dance, and it was a form of expression for me. I haven’t been to a club in years now, so I am not sure if it the same at all. Although, there were always the spots, one would stay away from if they were not into the “thug” life. I was one of these types. Now this song, “Make love in this club”… if this is prevelent in todays clubs then I think that clubbing should not be on the itinerary of any Christian. You must be careful about what you take in wiht your eyes, because it will defile your heart, and our hearts are the tarbernacle of Christ.
    I still love to dance, and I would love to go out dancing with my husband. He on the other hand does not like to dance. So, I dance with my children and neices and nephews at family gatherings. I used to dance for my husband, but he no longer wishes to observe my dance moves. This in no way indicates my inability to move!
    Anyways, just my thoughts on “To Club or not to Club?”.
    Carlal

  2. May 26, 2008 at 8:59 am

    Lol, at the dance moves. I believe you are right as to what your eyes take in, but if Jesus-followers are going to influence the culture they have to engage it. Not embrace it, but engage it. There is no specific pronouncement for or against clubbing or partying in the Bible, so I believe it is a matter of what the Holy Spirit is speaking into the life of that believer. He is our guide and we should consult.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

